Lunchtime run

I give you, the view from my favorite run to take over my lunch break. This is the halfway point, where I usually stop, stretch and enjoy the view into Downtown St. Paul.

Lunchtime run

35-E Bridge from St. Paul to Mendota Heights, MN

I was talking on the phone with my sister today about that glorious first spring day when you can put on your running shoes and just be happy that you won’t slip on ice, that you don’t need to wear mittens and can truly appreciate being outside. I’m not really one of those people that enjoys winter sports. I can get by. Things are cozy, food is warm and most importantly, winter is a great excuse to settle down with a dark winter’s beer. I’m not going to feel sorry for myself that I live in a frigid climate (that’s my choice), but I don’t think there is any harm in building some anticipation for spring. Even if it is many months away.

And another favorite run. Lake Nokomis. So very, very much better than the treadmill next to that stinky guy at the gym. Le Sigh.

Nokomis Run

I like to think if I lived in a perpetually warm climate I wouldn’t appreciate this as much. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

